Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Why does signal strength vary on my Westell 327W?

Reply
MrCurious2
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎06-07-2009

Why does signal strength vary on my Westell 327W?

Message 1 of 6
(7,792 Views)

My wife uses her laptop about 40 feet away from our router, in our house (conventional wood construction, no wireless devices or wireless phones in use in the house, in the suburbs). 

  

Her signal strength varies during the day from low to very good--sometimes going from 1 to the other in one minute.  I'm in the 'burbs, and there are not a lot of houses near mine.  Can someone tell me why her signal strength should vary so much, and what I can do about it?

5 REPLIES 5
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,172
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Why does signal strength vary on my Westell 327W?

Message 2 of 6
(7,770 Views)
#1 Do have any cell phones or wireless phones?

#2 Does this happen when someone is using a microwave?

#3 Do you have any big screen TVs? For example, points to another thread..

URL: http://forums.verizon.com/vrzn/board/message?board.id=High_Speed_Internet&thread.id=2230

Title: Wireless doesn't work near big-screen TV?

^^

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

MrCurious2
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎06-07-2009

Re: Why does signal strength vary on my Westell 327W?

Message 3 of 6
(7,774 Views)

DSJR>   #1 Do have any cell phones or wireless phones?

 

No.

  

DSJR>   #2 Does this happen when someone is using a microwave?

 

 

No.

 

DSJR>  

 

  

#3 Do you have any big screen TVs?

 

NO.

  

I've seen signal strength fluctuate while I'm looking  at the screen--with nothing else going on in the vicinity.

 

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,172
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Why does signal strength vary on my Westell 327W?

Message 4 of 6
(7,744 Views)
No, hmm...

#1


@MrCurious2 wrote:
with nothing else going on in the vicinity.

 




Not even other radios (Like police officers, fire fighters, medial personal) in the area in use?

#2 What Firmware is it running?

If you have no idea of what I mean, take a screen shot of least the first screen that you see in the router - and post it.

---

For Windows, this means:

Pressing the "Print Screen" key on your keyboard, going to paint (Start--->All Programs--->Accesories--->Paint), pressing CTRL and P at the same time, saving the file as a JPEG (use "save as type" as need be), uploading it some where (I use tinypic.com - unless a message board allows uploading the image directly), and giving out the URL of the image..

^^

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

MrCurious2
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎06-07-2009

Re: Why does signal strength vary on my Westell 327W?

Message 5 of 6
(7,724 Views)

1.  I often have stereo operating in my office, about 5 feet from the router.  My wife has a portable radio in her office.  No other radios of any kind in the house are turned on.  And certainly no "advanced" electronic devices beyond our computers.  I've been standing in front of her computer while the signal strength changed.

 

2.  I went to 192.168.1.1.  That page shows 3 panels:  My Gateway, my network, and Action Zone.

 

The My Gateway panel shows the following (excerpt):

    Internet Status:  Connected

DSL link: 

Connected Speed (Down/Up): 

     861 Kbits/sec by 156 Kbits/sec

Connection Type:  PPP

Username:  newdsl

 

 

 

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,172
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Why does signal strength vary on my Westell 327W?

Message 6 of 6
(7,703 Views)
Ok.

What is the top?

For example, left to right on the top...

a) Wireless Setup, Network Connections, Security, Parental Controls, Quality of Service, Advanced, System Monitoring?

Which looks something like the screen shot at http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Actiontec/MI-424-WR/1st_SMTP_Server.htm

OR

b) Main, Wireless Settings, My Network, Firewall Settings, Parental Controls Advanced, System Monitoring?

Which looks something like the screen shot at http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Actiontec/MI-424-WRv2/1st_SMTP_Server.htm

?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title