Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get up to $500 when you bring your phone. Plus, waived smartphone activation fee when you buy online. Limited time offer.
end of navigation menu

Can't set-up FIOS Voice Mail

Reply
Jamesh201
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-03-2010

Can't set-up FIOS Voice Mail

Message 1 of 10
(13,956 Views)

I just switched to FIOS but when I call the access number to set up my account, the instructions Verizon provides don't work from either home or away. All it will do is ask for my number and tell me it's invalid. Anyone have a solution?

9 REPLIES 9
Jimmay
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-04-2010

Re: Can't set-up FIOS Voice Mail

Message 2 of 10
(13,906 Views)

I have the same problem... after an hour of fooling around, I was able to at least access the on-line management tools...

 

http://www.verizon.com/fiosvoice

 

After I went there I was able to log in and go through a set up wizard... This at least got access to features like call waiting, etc. However, still no solution for vmail....

 

All of verizon's helpful applications (especially the in home agent that is being pushed by annoying popups as I'm looking for the solution.) don't give any clue as to what the issue is.

 

I waited for an actual person for about 20 minutes yesterday (including the 10 minutes of going through the voice automated phone service). I plan to try again today... I'll repost if they give me a solution that we can do without them.

csimwil322
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-25-2010

Re: Can't set-up FIOS Voice Mail

Message 3 of 10
(13,459 Views)

I'm having the same exact problem.  Did you resolve this yet? If yes, how?

 

I waited 75 minutes last evening on the tech support line and finally hung up because no one came on the line.  75 minutes of that pathetic music.

Nickoo
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-26-2010

Re: Can't set-up FIOS Voice Mail

Message 4 of 10
(13,436 Views)

Me Too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

I had a tech on the line at the weekend for 30 mins, he was talking to network guys who didn't know the answer either.

 

I have a support call number and received a customer service call last night to ask if it was working we had just returned from a couple of days on the shore so hadn't tried it.

 

Guess what ....................it still don't work!!

 

I have follwed the instructions which play back OK but when  you dial in nothing! I know I have messages because friends have told me that they have left them.

 

I go to the matresses tomorrow!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

NickooSmiley Mad

csimwil322
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-25-2010

Re: Can't set-up FIOS Voice Mail

Message 5 of 10
(13,403 Views)

I had this problem too.  It turns out that Verizon "forgot" to provide me with voicemail as a feature, so I called the customer support line (888) 553-1555, and selected New Orders (as opposed to selecting Technical Support).  When the rep came on, I asked them to check whether voicemail was ever added to my account.  It started working the next day, and I was able to set it up without a problem.

ahsilver
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-27-2010

Re: Can't set-up FIOS Voice Mail

Message 6 of 10
(13,363 Views)

I'm brand new to FIOS and have the same issue. I called today and was told by a rep that voice mail in my area (Jersey City) is down and is expected to be restored tomorrow (Saturday).

Nickoo
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-26-2010

Re: Can't set-up FIOS Voice Mail

Message 7 of 10
(13,320 Views)

If the new tech call doesn't clear it then I am ringing the new orders numberSmiley Very Happy

 

Thanks for the tip.

 

I will let you know what happens.

 

Nickoo

JackWilson
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-18-2010

Re: Can't set-up FIOS Voice Mail

Message 8 of 10
(12,688 Views)
 
KAMC
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-19-2010

Re: Can't set-up FIOS Voice Mail

Message 9 of 10
(12,633 Views)

I'm having the same problem.

njfjr1952
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-09-2011

Re: Can't set-up FIOS Voice Mail

Message 10 of 10
(7,293 Views)

Based on my experience with Verizon customer service… it is probably easier to switch to Comcast to get voice mail

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title