Specific Channel guide "fixes"
tsetem
Enthusiast - Level 1

We just got FiOS after 5 years of Comcast.  And our first (and so far) continuing impression of the guide is that's it's way too busy and complex to use, and it needs a drastic simplification, or at least options to make it simpler and easier on the eyes. These comments are based on v1.9 of the UI on the new Cisco boxes.

I haven't really seen a "complete" list of fixes, but I've seen a lot of complaints.  So I'll try to make some more specific fixes as to make the UI a bit cleaner and easier to use.  Hey, I'm a SW Engineer, I'm used to bugs 😉

• More/different views of the Channel information.  I can see how the current set of guides have their uses for someone who wants to find every detail about a show.  I'm not one of those people.  So I'd propose a "simple" Mini guide, and "simple" Half screen guide.
  • "Simple" mini guide.  This I would like to see as analogous to the mini guide Comcast has.  Yes, I think they got something right there.  That guide has three channels showing the next 1.5 hours of shows or so.  The guide should be at the bottom 1/3 of the screen, with the top part showing the upper 2/3 of the currently selected channel.
  • "Simple" Half screen guide.  I Like the level of detail the "Full screen" guide provides, except that the picture showing the currently selected channel is too small.  If a half screen guide can be crafted to show the same amount of detail with a larger picture
  • Wasted space in the cells.  When looking at the Full screen guide, the font size of each show looks like it could be several points larger, and vertically centered in the cell.  There is a bit of wasted space to the top of each show.  Larger fonts should help with the readability.  I'm 36 and it's not as easy to read on a 55" TV as it seems it could be.