Resetting my Router Part 2
chartle
Enthusiast - Level 3

First let me tell you I'm a Computer/Network Professional so I kind of know how things should happen.

So I reset my Actiontech router to reset the password (tech never gave it to me) and now I'm not getting a WAN connection.

Here's how it went down.  I reset my router all the lights did their little show, everything came up and I then started to access the router.  Well while I was entering the password the router reset it self maybe two more times.  After it was done doing this,  the Coax light is green but the WAN light (the globe) is amber.  I logged into the router and it shows the Coax broadband connection is stuck on connecting.  I've reset it a few more times and also just powered it down after the reset with no joy.

I poked around inside the router and did see that Verizon hard coded the PPOE setting for the coax so I didn't have to fool with that like I had to a few years ago when I was setting up a customers FIOS service with a netgear router. 

So it looks like I have to call Verizon or should I just save the hold time and restart my ONT?

thanks cliff

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Resetting my Router Part 2
chartle
Enthusiast - Level 3

I sent you a PM, but everyhting is up.

thanks

PS Why didn't the other tech didn't reboot the ONT?  Also could I just have done this by power cycling the ONT?

View solution in original post

0 Likes
Provider7
Contributor - Level 3

You can try to renew the dhcp lease by :

Click on the Broadband Connection on the main page

Next select your broadband connection (coax)

Select settings at the bottom of the page

Find the line that says DHCP Lease;  and hit renew

Let me know if this helps...If not i'll get Techman28 involved

0 Likes
chartle
Enthusiast - Level 3

I tried finding that but didn't see it.  Might have had something to do with it being 11:00 PM when I first looked at the problem and when I looked at it again at 6:20 AM.