Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

WPA2 AES encryption

SOLVED
Reply
TomH309
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,429
Registered: ‎05-16-2009

WPA2 AES encryption

Message 1 of 13
(4,639 Views)

Have M1424WR-GEN2 Version F Router

Have successfully implemented WPA AES encryption

The Preshared Key that they gave me has 26 alpha numeric characters

 

1) Can I change this Preshared Key ?

2) Do I have to use 26 characters if I can change it ?

3) Can I use more characters ?

4) What is the minimum number of characters that can be used ?

5) Is there a "pattern" of alpha numeric characters that has to be used ?    

 

Tom
QIP 7100 1,YAMAHA ATS 1080,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: WPA2 AES encryption

Message 2 of 13
(4,634 Views)

@TomH309 wrote:

Have M1424WR-GEN2 Version F Router

Have successfully implemented WPA AES encryption

The Preshared Key that they gave me has 26 alpha numeric characters

 

1) Can I change this Preshared Key ?

2) Do I have to use 26 characters if I can change it ?

3) Can I use more characters ?

4) What is the minimum number of characters that can be used ?

5) Is there a "pattern" of alpha numeric characters that has to be used ?    

 


I have a Rev. I router, not F, but my router clearly shows the same recommendations for the key for both WPA and WPA2:

 

Image 671.jpg

 

Yours doesn't show a page something like this? Would be surprised if it doesn't. But again, I don't have a Rev. F so I can't see what you might be seeing.

 

I chose WPA2 to capture because it is highly recommended by experts to use WPA2 rather than WPA, it is much more secure, been using it for years. I use my own custom key, which I of course blocked out; it has 18 characters, letters (mixed case), numbers, and special characters. My Rev. I requires at least one letter and one number, minimum of 8 characters and maximum of 63.

 

My recommendation is to change the key to something complex but easy for you to remember because you will need to enter the key into each wireless device the first time it tries to connect after you make the change.

 

Hope this helps.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9.1
Keller, TX 76248 (VHO 1)

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: WPA2 AES encryption

Message 2 of 13
(4,635 Views)

@TomH309 wrote:

Have M1424WR-GEN2 Version F Router

Have successfully implemented WPA AES encryption

The Preshared Key that they gave me has 26 alpha numeric characters

 

1) Can I change this Preshared Key ?

2) Do I have to use 26 characters if I can change it ?

3) Can I use more characters ?

4) What is the minimum number of characters that can be used ?

5) Is there a "pattern" of alpha numeric characters that has to be used ?    

 


I have a Rev. I router, not F, but my router clearly shows the same recommendations for the key for both WPA and WPA2:

 

Image 671.jpg

 

Yours doesn't show a page something like this? Would be surprised if it doesn't. But again, I don't have a Rev. F so I can't see what you might be seeing.

 

I chose WPA2 to capture because it is highly recommended by experts to use WPA2 rather than WPA, it is much more secure, been using it for years. I use my own custom key, which I of course blocked out; it has 18 characters, letters (mixed case), numbers, and special characters. My Rev. I requires at least one letter and one number, minimum of 8 characters and maximum of 63.

 

My recommendation is to change the key to something complex but easy for you to remember because you will need to enter the key into each wireless device the first time it tries to connect after you make the change.

 

Hope this helps.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9.1
Keller, TX 76248 (VHO 1)

View solution in original post

TomH309
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,429
Registered: ‎05-16-2009

Re: WPA2 AES encryption

Message 3 of 13
(4,620 Views)

Thanks for your response.

It was a typo error on my part.

My posting should have read:

Have successfully implemented WPA2 AES encryption.

Will try something similar to what you did...hope it works for me.

 

Tom
QIP 7100 1,YAMAHA ATS 1080,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
walt178
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: WPA2 AES encryption

Message 4 of 13
(4,602 Views)

Remembering the key or writing it down isn't necessary.  If you forget the Key, just go to Menu>Customer Support>My Wireless Network and they will retrieve your SSID and WEP/WPA KEY for you.

 

Convenient, but degrades security.  Anyone with access to your TV can get your wireless security info.

TomH309
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,429
Registered: ‎05-16-2009

Re: WPA2 AES encryption

Message 5 of 13
(4,593 Views)

Hi Justin:

I was able to implement a new key of my design

My iPad 2and iPhone 5 were also updated successfully.

Thanks again for your prompt and thorough reply.

73's for now.

 

Tom
QIP 7100 1,YAMAHA ATS 1080,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: WPA2 AES encryption

Message 6 of 13
(4,595 Views)

@walt178 wrote:

Remembering the key or writing it down isn't necessary.  If you forget the Key, just go to Menu>Customer Support>My Wireless Network and they will retrieve your SSID and WEP/WPA KEY for you.

 

Convenient, but degrades security.  Anyone with access to your TV can get your wireless security info.


Well, it is interesting that you say that. But a couple of issues, at least for me:

 

1) My DVR has recently been updated to 1.9.4 of the IMG, Build Number 16.13 (don't know when that happened or what all might be new!), and access to that information is now protected by requiring entry of your PIN, so you need to at least remember your PIN get to the passkey information. That is Good!!!! But......

 

2) After I enter the PIN and it displays the information, what is displayed it totally wrong! And I really mean totally wrong. I know what my passkey is, and I know what my SSID is, and neither of the displayed values is remotely close to what they really are. And just to be sure I just logged into the router to verify that nothing has changed there. I have no clue where the TV dialog is getting the information it is displaying, but it is garbage, the only thing it displays that is correct is the encryption type being WPA2.

 

Since I see the above incorrect information, I decided to try the Auto-Correct My STB/DVR dialog to see if by any chance it would fix the above problem. Well, I have been watching the Loading..... message on the screen for about 5 minutes now, getting the impression the dialog isn't even going to run. After cancelling out the dialog and going into the auto-correct dialog a second time, it ran, the DVR shut down and restarted, but it did not fix the data error for the wireless information.

 

Another example of Verizon's quality control efforts I guess.....

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9.1
Keller, TX 76248 (VHO 1)

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: WPA2 AES encryption

Message 7 of 13
(4,524 Views)

Justin,

 

1.9.4?  are they still giving you betas?  Or is this rolling out now?

TomH309
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,429
Registered: ‎05-16-2009

Re: WPA2 AES encryption

Message 8 of 13
(4,520 Views)

You are absolutely correct.

Just tried it on my TV---5/27/2013 10:40 am EST

All 3 (SS id,Password and Encryption were listed)

 

Tom
QIP 7100 1,YAMAHA ATS 1080,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: WPA2 AES encryption

Message 9 of 13
(4,491 Views)

@tns_2 wrote:

Justin,

 

1.9.4?  are they still giving you betas?  Or is this rolling out now?


I have never gotten any betas. I have no idea who is getting this now, or for that matter why I have it, I have not had any communication from Verizon about it, nor have I seen anyone else report having it - strange......

 

Yes, 1.9.4 (I wonder what happened to 1.9.2 and 1.9.3?). I have verified on both my 7232 DVR and 7100-P2 HD box that I have 1.9.4 on both. Don't really know when it happened, I was up at our lake house a couple of days last week, apparently happened then. I do know that Saturday, when I turned on the TV attached to the 7100-P2, the box was turned off, and when I tried to turn it on there was a message about I could not change channels until a software download completed, and that took maybe 2 minutes or so.

 

In looking through the Menu, so far I have found only a few new things and changes:

 

1) Menu ==> Settings ==> System Information

 

    Release: 1.9.4, Build Number: 16.13, Data Object Version Number: 36.13

 

2) Menu ==> Settings ==> Save Settings

 

Appears to save more than it used to, now saves DVR Series Recordings Schedule, Parental Controls, Favorites, and Guide Preferences. IMO saving the Favorites is a big, big addition! The dialog says to only use this before replacing equipment, and it says the settings will be saved in the Cloud for 30 days. I went ahead and saved my settings but have not tried to restore them (but was offered an option to restore them when I went to set up a series schedule).

 

3) Menu ==> Settings ==> Restore Settings

 

New entry I think. Have not tried it.

 

4) Menu ==> FiOS TV Home Page

 

New entry to display the Home Page. Useless IMO.

 

5) Menu ==> Customer Support ==> Voicemail Access Number

 

Marked as a new entry. I do not use Voicemail but I tried the option, it came back and said I don't have Verizon phone service, which I do, I have Digital Voice.

 

6) Menu ==> Customer Support ==> My Wireless Network

 

Displays the SSID, Passcode, and encryption method. Updated to require entry of Parental Controls PIN if one has been set (simply displays the wireless info if no PIN has been set, not good). Trouble is, the SSID and Passkey displayed are incorrect, on both DVR and 7100-P2, they bear no relation to what mine really are.

 

That is it for the Menu that I have found so far. There are lots of Menu options that I never use, so I have no real idea what else if anything might have been changed.

 

The Guide seems to show cast information now right in the main display, so it is not necessary to press Info to get it, although sometimes there is not enough space to list the full cast info or episode description. Still, better than it used to be IMO.

 

So far I haven't found anything new with the DVR menu, On Demand, Widgets, or Options, although again there may be some changes or additions that I just haven't noticed.

 

The response of the DVR to my remote seems about like it was with 1.9.1, with one exception: it seems to occasionally totally miss button presses (light on DVR never blinks). I had that problem with 1.9 originally, then an update made it a whole lot better. This seems to be a step backward. I have not noticed this problem on my 7100-P2.

 

That is about it for now.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9.4
Keller, TX 76248 (VHO 1)

TomH309
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,429
Registered: ‎05-16-2009

Re: WPA2 AES encryption

Message 10 of 13
(4,464 Views)

Hi Justin:

 

SYSTEM INFORMATION AVAILABLE FROM  TV
MENU--SETTINGS--SYSTEM INFORMATION
      
NAMEDATETIMERELEASEBUILD NO.DATA OBJ.VER.NO.
      
JUSTIN5/27/20136:04 PM1.9.416.1336.13
      
TomH3095/28/20139:00 AM1.9.114.4734.47

 

I THINK THIS IS AN EXAMPLE OF THE REASON WHY THERE IS SO MUCH UNNECESSARY MISUNDERSTANDING BETWEEN FOLKS WHO ASK QUESTIONS (NEWBIES ? AND OTHERS) AND THOSE WHO ANSWER THEM.

 

IT SEEMS THAT OUR FORUM SIGNATURE SHOULD ALSO INCLUDE THIS TYPE OF INFORMATION AND WHEN WE THINK THAT IT IS APPROPRIATE WE SHOULD ASK THE PERSON ASKING A PARTICULAR QUESTION TO CHECK THEIR SYSTEM INFORMATION.

 

BTW 

 

HOW DID YOU GET TO BE A BETA TESTER ?

 

Tom
QIP 7100 1,YAMAHA ATS 1080,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title