Capped Speeds on FiOS connection
JustinG1
Community Leader
Community Leader

How irionc, I'm usually the one trying to help others on here. Smiley Very Happy

For the past week, my speeds have dropped from 75 Mbps to barely 30 Mbps on the download side. Upload speed unaffected. But here's the catch: no packet loss whatsoever and no signs of any connection issues. This is tested to multiple servers using multiple backbone providers. I'm a network administrator, and I can confirm again and again that my equiptment is not the issue. Granted, tech support is determined I should reboot my router several hundered times. All of my equiptment is enterprise grade, and again, this is not an issue on my network.

Another problem that confuses me. I can get perfect download speeds to the internal verizon speedtest server. I can also transfer files to a server hosted on the verizon network at full speed. But as soon as my connection leaves the VZ network, speeds drop to 30 Mbps.

I called tech support, and the one good tech I got (Sam, I believe his name was - from the pittsburgh call center) who was very knowledgeable when it comes to networking, was just as stumped as I was. No packet loss, no ping spikes, nothing to indicate a connection issue. I've tried everything I can from my end.

The only possible explanation I can comprehend is some kind of traffic shaping going on. Would it be possible that my account got some kind of "cap" or "ban" on it?

Any help would be appreciated.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Capped Speeds on FiOS connection
JustinG1
Community Leader
Community Leader

Thanks for your response.

I use all my own equiptment (no FiOS router), and tested from multiple devices the speeds always fell. Anyways, it seems like the problem is solving itself. Already back up to 75 Mbps.