Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Ethernet not working (fully), but WiFi works fine

SOLVED
Reply
exploiteddna
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-07-2020

Ethernet not working (fully), but WiFi works fine

Message 1 of 14
(6,027 Views)

Setup

FiOS Gigabit Internet package

FiOS G1100 Quantum Gateway

 

PC: Windows 10 Pro, Aquantia AQC111c 5Gbe network Chip, Intel Wireless-AC 9560 wireless chip --- Intel I219-V network chip (not in use, but have tried.. same result)

Ethernet is connected via 3ft Cat7 cable (yes, overkill) from router to my PC. 

 

Short summary of problem

a) on Ethernet: some sites and some network-reliant programs will fail to load/start when on LAN

b) on WiFi: everything works

 

Detailed description and troubleshooting

This problem is reproducible. It does not seem to change from day to day, so there are a few sites that I know always give me trouble. Also trying to launch Discord chat app will not work on Ethernet. When a site fails to load, it usually is stuck on a blank page with the status message at the bottom of the browser window reading "establishing secure connection..". There have been one or two cases where the header of a page will load, but the body of the page will not.

 

I have tried bypassing the router altogether by connecting the cable that runs from "the brain" modem (as the install tech called it) in the basement of my house. By connecting this directly into my PC and bypassing the router, I see that there is no effect. The same behavior applies.

 

I have also tried disabling the integrated Windows Defender Firewall for both Public and Private, found at Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Windows Defender Firewall\Customize Settings -- this has no effect either

I am not using any other third-party antivirus software

 

I have tried changing the DNS servers to use Google and OpenDNS. It is clear that DNS is not problem.. the same behavior happens regardless

 

Within the router settings, in the Firewall heading, set the IPV4 to the lowest possible security, which is "Minimum Security (Low) Inbound Policy: Accept. Outbound Policy: Accept." -- IPV6 is unable to be changed. This has no effect on the problem

 

Within the router settings at My Network -> Network Connections -> Advanced -> then select "Edit" next to "Broadband Connection (Ethernet/Coax)" -> Settings, I have tried unchecking the box next to "Internet Connection Firewall". This has no effect either

 

Here is a screenshot of the Network Connections in the router settings, just in case something looks incorrect to you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
mlg
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-02-2018

Re: Ethernet not working (fully), but WiFi works fine

Message 14 of 14
(2,631 Views)

Perhaps the driver for the Aquantia needs updating?

I also noticed that on your router settings you're running at 2.4 rather than 5.  Is there a reason for that?

I've found Chrome to be almost impossible lately and often find a blank screen.  This seems to be the result of Chrome not liking the security settings of the site - or - Chrome's security settings are blocking the page.  If you go to the left icon on the url and right click it will bring you to security settings for the page in question.  I set them all to "allow", reload the page and it usually works.  But I'm getting really tired of Chrome after all these years.

 

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
Edg1
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 1,985
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Ethernet not working (fully), but WiFi works fine

Message 2 of 14
(5,978 Views)

It may be just an issue with Verizon's default DNS server. Try clicking edit on Broadband Connection (Ethernet/Coax) and go to the drop down for DNS servers and change from obtain automatically to use the following  and change the DNS server to say Google's which is 8.8.8.8 and see if that works.

exploiteddna
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-07-2020

Re: Ethernet not working (fully), but WiFi works fine

Message 3 of 14
(5,964 Views)

I noted in my original post that Ive already tried changing the DNS, but does not seem to change anything. Ive tried both the google DNS servers and also OpenDNS servers.

 

Also I should mention, my situation is somewhat similar to this other thread that was solved last year. However, the difference in my case is that I don't have a global loss of internet, only situation/site-specific. Here is the other thread I found before posting here: 

https://forums.verizon.com/t5/Fios-Internet/FIOS-Ethernet-not-working-Wireless-works-fine/td-p/20383...

gs0b
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 2,173
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: Ethernet not working (fully), but WiFi works fine

Message 4 of 14
(5,905 Views)

The device in the basement is a optical network terminal, or ONT.

 

Try using a CAT5e or CAT6 cable.  While a CAT7 cable should be backwards compatible, there could be something in the non-CAT7 equipment that doesn't play well with them.  It's an easy test that is worth doing to rule out any cable or port issues.

 

exploiteddna
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-07-2020

Re: Ethernet not working (fully), but WiFi works fine

Message 5 of 14
(5,832 Views)

I was using a cat5e cable initially (from gateway to PC). The cable the ionstaller tech used to run it from the ONT to the gateway on the first floor, that cable is Cat5E (figured theyd use Cat6 cable for gigabit customers but what do i know)

 

Also im reluctant to think the issue is cable related, since the connection issues are not global.

Edg1
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 1,985
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Ethernet not working (fully), but WiFi works fine

Message 6 of 14
(5,816 Views)

@exploiteddna wrote:

I was using a cat5e cable initially (from gateway to PC). The cable the ionstaller tech used to run it from the ONT to the gateway on the first floor, that cable is Cat5E (figured theyd use Cat6 cable for gigabit customers but what do i know)

 

Also im reluctant to think the issue is cable related, since the connection issues are not global.


Do you have anything else plugged into the LAN ports or another device you can try hardwiring for testing purposes?

exploiteddna
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-07-2020

Re: Ethernet not working (fully), but WiFi works fine

Message 7 of 14
(5,749 Views)

No, nothing else plugged in.

 

I dont have another device right now that i can plug in for testing purposes. Although I could bring home my laptop from work and give that a test. I was also considering a fresh install of windows (sorta been wanting to do a clean install for a while now, irrespective of this problem). 

 

I'll update this after Ive tested other device and/or reinstalled windows on this PC. 

exploiteddna
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-07-2020

Re: Ethernet not working (fully), but WiFi works fine

Message 8 of 14
(5,687 Views)

well, just did a 100% clean install of windows and it didnt take long to realize that the same problem persists. So I'll bring my laptop home from work on Monday and see how that behaves. 

exploiteddna
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-07-2020

Re: Ethernet not working (fully), but WiFi works fine

Message 9 of 14
(5,682 Views)

just in case anyone is wondering, one site im able to reliably use for testing is https://biorender.com/ .. this site loads perfectly, but when I try to login, it attempts to bring me to https://app.biorender.com/signin which is when the trouble starts. It's a blank white page with "establishing secure connection" at bottom left in the status box.  As soon as I unplug ethernet cable and connect over wifi, poof like maging it loads instantly. I wish I knew more about different sites, certificates, protocols, etc. and maybe I could figure out whats different about the login page.. but i can't. I've tried to run a ping command on the signin page but that fails too. Tried traceroute but i think i need an IP for that, which I don't know. Anyways, I'll update more later. Surely someone out there must know something

exploiteddna
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-07-2020

Re: Ethernet not working (fully), but WiFi works fine

Message 10 of 14
(5,678 Views)

Also one more thing..

I just decided to check out my device in the router settings. I found my PC and selected "View Device Details" (image 1 below)

 

By selecting "View device details" I was brought to this page here (image 2 below). Does anything look off/wrong here? What is "Bridge" for "Network connection" ??

 

So then I saw this "Test connectivity" button and decided to give it a go. When I run that test, this is the result (image 3 below)

 

 

so ummm.. that result isn't very reassuring

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title