Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

FIOS 20/5 dropped to 2.5/3 on SP3 Windows XP upgrade?

Reply
surfer_00
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-05-2008

FIOS 20/5 dropped to 2.5/3 on SP3 Windows XP upgrade?

Message 1 of 13
(13,352 Views)

Wired XP Machine.  Prior to SP3 for windows XP machine I was getting 20/5 service.  Now I get 2.5/3 service.  Connection Wizard will not connect to my Actionic Router however I can surf the internet.  Connection Wizard says my internet connection is ok.  I've tried TCP optimizer and have run speed tests from various sites.  I've rebooted router.  I have replaced network card.

 

My other machines which run Vista are fine and still obtaining 20/5 service. 

 

Any help?

12 REPLIES 12
Techman28
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,340
Registered: ‎10-13-2008

Re: FIOS 20/5 dropped to 2.5/3 on SP3 Windows XP upgrade?

Message 2 of 13
(13,338 Views)

surfer_00

 

Please try going to speed guide to run their optimizer please select the 20000 option and then select custom settings and click apply once you apply the settings then the computer will restart test your speed again and let us know the results.

surfer_00
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-05-2008

Re: FIOS 20/5 dropped to 2.5/3 on SP3 Windows XP upgrade?

Message 3 of 13
(13,322 Views)

I went to speed guide and ran the Analyzer first:

 

TCP options string = 020405ac0103030401010402
MTU = 1492
MTU is optimized for PPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.
MSS = 1452
MSS is optimized for PPPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising your MTU value.
Default TCP Receive Window (RWIN) = 1045440
RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 4 bits (scale factor: 2^4=16)
Unscaled TCP Receive Window = 65340

RWIN is a multiple of MSS
Other RWIN values that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
63888  (up to 2 Mbit lines, depending on latency. MSS * 44)
127776 (1-5 Mbit lines, depending on latency. MSS * 44 * 2)
255552 (2-14 Mbit lines, depending on latency. MSS * 44 * 2^2)
511104 (8-30 Mbit lines, depending on latency. MSS * 44 * 2^3)
1022208 (25-60 Mbit lines depending on latency. MSS * 44 * 2^4)

bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test😞

Your TCP Window limits you to: 41818 kbps (5227 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
Your TCP Window limits you to: 16727 kbps (2091 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
Time to live left = 32 hops
TTL value is ok.
Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)

 

And then ran TCP Optimizer-I'm not entirely clear on your directions however it made some changes.

 

surfer_00
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-05-2008

Re: FIOS 20/5 dropped to 2.5/3 on SP3 Windows XP upgrade?

Message 4 of 13
(13,320 Views)

So here is the new results from TCP Analyzer

 

TCP options string = 020405ac0103030401010402
MTU = 1492
MTU is optimized for PPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.
MSS = 1452
MSS is optimized for PPPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising your MTU value.
Default TCP Receive Window (RWIN) = 1045440
RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 4 bits (scale factor: 2^4=16)
Unscaled TCP Receive Window = 65340

RWIN is a multiple of MSS
Other RWIN values that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
63888  (up to 2 Mbit lines, depending on latency. MSS * 44)
127776 (1-5 Mbit lines, depending on latency. MSS * 44 * 2)
255552 (2-14 Mbit lines, depending on latency. MSS * 44 * 2^2)
511104 (8-30 Mbit lines, depending on latency. MSS * 44 * 2^3)
1022208 (25-60 Mbit lines depending on latency. MSS * 44 * 2^4)

bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test😞

Your TCP Window limits you to: 41818 kbps (5227 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
Your TCP Window limits you to: 16727 kbps (2091 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
Time to live left = 32 hops
TTL value is ok.
Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)

 

 And here are the speedtest results

 

SG Speed Test Results

kbps
2000
4000
6000
8000
10000
download
upload
« 703 kbps ↓

« 1391 kbps ↑

 

703 kbps down (~0.7 Mbps, 86 KB/s) ↓
1391 kbps up (~1.39 Mbps, 170 KB/s) ↑

Details:

100 KB downloaded in 1.166 seconds
250 KB uploaded in 1.472 seconds
Speed @ 9% of the average for hrbgpa.fios.verizon.net
13 times faster than 56k dialup
Tested on: 2008.10.16 04:08 EDT
Tested from: openo.co.uk
Test ID: JQIG1OLAFHAY
Browser/OS: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.0.3) Gecko/2008092417 Firefox/3.0.3 (.NET CLR 2.0.50727)
IP Address: {edited for privacy} 
Latency: 55ms
Provider: hrbgpa.fios.verizon.net
Location: US

 

 

Message Edited by KaLin on 10-16-2008 06:40 AM
surfer_00
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-05-2008

Re: FIOS 20/5 dropped to 2.5/3 on SP3 Windows XP upgrade?

Message 5 of 13
(13,320 Views)

Also-I cannot get my router to pass it's connectivity test with this CPU.

 

  • Diagnostics can assist in testing network connectivity. This feature pings (ICMP echo) an IP address and displays the results, such as the number of packets transmitted and received, round trip time, and success status

 

Ping (ICMP Echo) Destination:     Number of pings:   Status: Test Failed Packets: 4/4 transmitted, 0/4 received, 100% loss Round Trip Time: Minimum = 0 ms
Maximum = 0 ms
Average = 0 ms

Press the Refresh button to update the status.

 

         

Configure Network (Home/Office)

NOTE: Only advanced technical users should use this feature.

General Status: Connected When should this rule occur ? Always Network: Broadband ConnectionNetwork (Home/Office)DMZ Connection Type: Bridge Physical Address: 00:1f:90:15:8a:49 MTU: AutomaticAutomatic by DHCPManual  1500 Internet Protocol No IP AddressObtain an IP Address AutomaticallyUse the Following IP Address IP Address: ... Subnet Mask: ... Bridge Rule Name Status STP Action          Network (Home/Office) Connected        Broadband Connection (Ethernet) Down        Ethernet Connected        Broadband Connection (Coax) Connected        Coax Down        Wireless Access Point Connected     DNS Server Use the Following DNS Server AddressesNo DNS Server Primary DNS Server: ... Secondary DNS Server: ... IP Address Distribution DisabledDHCP ServerDHCP Relay

 

 

Gambit61
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: FIOS 20/5 dropped to 2.5/3 on SP3 Windows XP upgrade?

Message 6 of 13
(13,296 Views)
I have the same problem but It's slow on both my Service pack 2 computer and my Service Pack 3 wired connections. For some reason when I use my wireless adapter on the SP3 comp, my speeds are pretty much 20/5, yet if I switch to wired it's similar to the OP results, around 800 kb/s down.
surfer_00
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-05-2008

Re: FIOS 20/5 dropped to 2.5/3 on SP3 Windows XP upgrade?

Message 7 of 13
(13,223 Views)

Forgot to mention I am in the Harrisburg PA area.  Speed Test as of 6:00 am.

 

Last Result:
Download Speed: 2281 kbps (285.1 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 3175 kbps (396.9 KB/sec transfer rate)

 

This is consistent with the last 2 weeks of tests and is unacceptable for 20/5 service.

 

Fixes attempted thus far:  Router reset and reboot.  Router default settings reset.  Verizon optimizer ran multiple times.  Verizon connection wizard ran however each time it hangs on "connecting to router" and says a cable is unplugged.  Replaced communication cable, replaced network card.  Reset windows XP TCP thru netshell command.  Tech support took over thru remote access and checked all setting twice and found nothing.

 

Router is showing this windows XP Home network as a bridged connection and I am curious if that is right?  Coax cable into back of Actiontec router, ethernet cable to this XP CPU.  Not sure why this makes this CPU a bridged network.  Not able to change that setup.
LUCC
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-22-2008

Re: FIOS 20/5 dropped to 2.5/3 on SP3 Windows XP upgrade?

Message 8 of 13
(13,099 Views)

I am also having this issue, I installed SP3 on Satruday 10/18 and now my 20/5 connecton is more like 1.5/4. The FiOS tech said to call Microsoft and explain my issue. I really doubt it's an SP3 issue and I believe it's a FiOS issue. I've also heard that many FiOS user in the northeast are having this problem.

I emailed a buddy of mine that lives 4 blocks away and asked if he noticed his connection was slow. He told me that it is slow and he thought it was because he installed some new anti-virus protection over the weekend. He has FiOS 20/5 service as well.

This is ridiculous and Verizon support is of no support.

Techman28
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,340
Registered: ‎10-13-2008

Re: FIOS 20/5 dropped to 2.5/3 on SP3 Windows XP upgrade?

Message 9 of 13
(13,081 Views)

My suggestion is to roll back to SP2 and see if that works. I will continue to find more info to help everyone resolve this issue.

 

 

Also please try to test @ speakeasy

Message Edited by Techman28 on 10-22-2008 11:58 AM
Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: FIOS 20/5 dropped to 2.5/3 on SP3 Windows XP upgrade?

Message 10 of 13
(13,074 Views)

Not that it is going to help anybody find their problem, but I have SP 3 installed and just did several speed tests:

 

1) Using Speedtest.net (to Dallas sever), I got 19444/4454, which is close enough to the 20/5 I am supposed to get to satisfy me.

 

2) Using the ftp file download test at ftp://ftp1.optonline.net/, I got 2.46 MB/sec, which translates to approximately 19680.

 

3) Using Speakeasy (to Dallas server), I got 20765/4177.

 

So, at least for me, SP 3 is not causing any speed problem on FiOS (all fingers and toes crossed....).

 

Good luck, hope you find it.

 

Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.5.0
Keller, TX

Message Edited by Justin on 10-22-2008 12:35 PM
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title