Help with my Gigabit connection
drinkyT

Greetings all! I recently moved and went with Verizon (First timer). I came from a fiber connection at my last place, where I ran a pfSense setup. I've never used Verizon, I just learned about MoCa (which is what I'm using now). My current problem I'm not getting Gig speeds on the end of my moca adapter (action tech ECB6250). I currently have 3 drops in my townhouse, I have a moca setup in the bedroom (testing purposes) and I'm capped at 90 up and down. I have networking equipment coming tomorrow which are a few switches, a security gateway, and some APs. I'm a networking student and can weave my way through most things, I just never had to use MoCa so I am very new to it. My current setup is G3100 with ethernet for WAN IN, coax out for LAN into a 3-way splitter which supplies the 3 drops in my house. My plan is to use my equipment coming tomorrow to handle the security and DHCP and just use the G3100 for moca duties. At every drop I'm going to use a moca so I can supply a 8port switch which will power an AP and other devices. Am I missing something here? Do I need a MoCa before the G3100?? After a restart my connection is almost Gig at the G3100, on my end (testing on my PC) I'm getting capped at 90mbps. I would love to get this figured out so setting up the networking equipment tomorrow will be a breeze. Thanks in advanced!!!!

0 Likes
Re: Help with my Gigabit connection
Cang_Household
Community Leader
Community Leader

Capped at 90 Mbps? None of the MoCA version caps you at 90Mbps, even MoCA 1.1 should be capped at 100Mbps. Are you using MoCA-compatible coax splitters? What is the link speed between G3100 and ECB6250? Can you go to LAN Coax Stats page on G3100?

G3100’s MoCA should be able to achieve 2.5 Gbps, but ECB6250’s ethernet port is only gigabit. ECB7250, just released less than a month, has 802.3bz 2.5G ethernet port.