New to FiOS, can I use my own modem and router
marshallpf
Enthusiast - Level 1

I saw several questions similar to mine, but none that I saw answered my question for my scenario. I am sorry if this is a duplicate.

I am new to FiOS. I have no other services from Verizon and do not plan to get any. No phone, no television, nothing. Just Internet. God willing, the installation will take place in two days. My house already has coaxial cabling. I have my own cable modem, a SURFboard SB6121, which goes to my router, a TP Link TL-WR941ND. None of my equipment advertises that it is FiOS compatible.

I've seen other people asking about using their own modem and router, but in those cases the scenario involved other bundled services, and I understand a FiOS router is necessary to forward ports to television, phone, and computers. However, in my very simple scenario, can the Verizon optical network terminal simply feed its output to my coax, from there to my modem, then router, then comptuers? Is there any reason that wouldn't work?

Verizon technical support just gave me a machine that wanted to help me troubleshoot my Internet connection, and I couldn't get from there to a human. Thanks in advance for the help!

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: New to FiOS, can I use my own modem and router
gs0b
Community Leader
Community Leader

@marshallpf wrote:

Just to confirm, my modem does have a MOCA filter, but it has no bridge mode or anything like that. I should definitely not try to use it because it probably wouldn't work and it might cause problems on the node. Is that accurate?

If that's the case, then I either need to buy a MOCA bridge or a MOCA router...

BANISH the word modem and any device called modem from your home when using FiOS.  FiOS does not use modems.  Your cable modem cannot be used with FiOS.  Do not plug it in.  Do not pass go.  Do not collect $200.  Do not use your cable modem with FiOS.  It will not work.  Don't use it.