Tech Support Splitter Usage Inconsistency
gumbysmirks
Enthusiast - Level 2

Hello.  I want to apologize in advance if I’m asking some really common place questions.  I’m a FIOS newbie and was sick when the technician installed the service so I was unable to ask questions.

There seems to be some inconsistency in what Verizon tech support and the information I’ve been reading on the forums and FAQs are giving, regarding the use of Splitters.

My situation is similar to many others.  I have a Bedroom with a single coax (Moca) connection into the Verizon Actiontec router.  In the Living room is where my TV resides where I have 2 coax connection installed – one for the TV, and the other one is not used.

I just bought another TV and I want to hook it up in the bedroom.  However, there is only one coax connection there.  What is the best way get the second TV hooked up?  Can I use the “free” coax connection in the living room?  But wouldn’t that mean that living tv and bedroom tv have to be watching the same channel at any point in time?  Or can I “split” the connection right before the Actiontec router – one going into the tv and the other going into the router.

After calling tech support, they told me that I can only use the splitter at the ONT box and that I cannot under no condition remove the existing coax  from the Actiontec router.  They said that splitting the signal right before the Actiontec router will not work – so that both TV and internet can be used from the same coax.

I’ve looked at some diagrams and I see splitters set up by the ONT and then there is a splitter setup before the connection into the computer/tv.  The splitters between the ONT and the ones before the computer/tv are via RDG6(??).  Not too sure what that means.

Any light that can be shed will help greatly.  Verizon is sending me a splitter and I have no idea what to do with it.

Thanks in advance.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Tech Support Splitter Usage Inconsistency
prisaz