Verizon's No-Good $99 fee
DCCustomer02

Hi all,

I realize this is long, and probably overly detailed. But I have a feeling, based on the posts of literally hundreds of people, that the type of insanity I dealt with from Verizon is not unique to me. I decided I needed to everyone know about it, in case anything sounds familiar because it happened to you!

I have spent at least 5 hours on the phone with Verizon over the course of the last month, because of a series of lies and mistakes that Verizon reps made. In my 30 years of life, I've never written on a forum of any kind before(!), which should give you a sense of just how frustrated I am with Verizon.

I first called Verizon on May 16 to tell them I was moving apartments within the same building and that I wanted to transfer my service. I explained that I did not want to pay a $99 fee because I saw during my tour of the new apartment that there was an ONT in the new apartment and I wanted to perform a self-install. They said "no problem." The sales rep transferred me to a tech, who said, "sorry, we have to send someone to your apartment building for you to get service because the system there needs an update" (lie). Being a reasonable human, I assumed they were telling the truth and said, "ok, I understand. Thanks for checking." They said they would send a tech to help that Monday, May 18.  You know what, if a tech needs to come, a $99 fee is fine.  No argument from me.