Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

DVR with more than 2 channels for recording

Reply
Adi
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎08-17-2010

DVR with more than 2 channels for recording

Message 1 of 6
(1,866 Views)

Does or will  verizon offer a DVR that can record more than 2 HD shows at a time. I believe COX and Satelite do that already.

5 REPLIES 5
celticpride
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎09-01-2010

Re: DVR with more than 2 channels for recording

Message 2 of 6
(1,829 Views)

you can do that on verizon with a tivo roamio plus or pro for 6 tuners or a basic tivo roamio dvr with 4 tuners or if you want,verizon is currently releasing their new VMS 6 tuner dvr depending where you live.

Keyboards
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: DVR with more than 2 channels for recording

Message 3 of 6
(1,772 Views)

@Adi wrote:

Does or will  verizon offer a DVR that can record more than 2 HD shows at a time. I believe COX and Satelite do that already.


See these 2 threads over at DSLReports:

 

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r29119552-DVR-All-Things-VMS

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r29044849-STB-When-are-the-new-STB-s-coming-

 

The second thread is long and the information regrding the VMS system are on the later pages.

 

The VMS is a 6 tuner main box and IP connected client boxes for anyt other TVs.  It is currently rolling out in in selected portions of several VHOs and should be expanding over time.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
alevenso
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎12-14-2010

Re: DVR with more than 2 channels for recording

Message 4 of 6
(1,638 Views)

cancel your contract with FIOs and switch to a competitor - supposedly VMS is being rolled out in parts of TX and PA - but yet none of those users are posting anything in Verizon forums about VMS  - only on DSLReports - this seems very strange to me - Verizon has been promising VMS for almost 18 months now - best bet is to switch providers who stay with or ahead of technology - Verizon has never been able to do this in any of its segments - remember how long it took them to launch the iPhone - 

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: DVR with more than 2 channels for recording

Message 5 of 6
(1,626 Views)

@alevenso wrote:

cancel your contract with FIOs and switch to a competitor - supposedly VMS is being rolled out in parts of TX and PA - but yet none of those users are posting anything in Verizon forums about VMS  - only on DSLReports - this seems very strange to me - Verizon has been promising VMS for almost 18 months now - best bet is to switch providers who stay with or ahead of technology - Verizon has never been able to do this in any of its segments - remember how long it took them to launch the iPhone - 


ITs rolliing out.  Obviously they have a limited supply.  Expect moer aresa to roll out in the next months.  I hope we can entice some of the users on DSLReports to bring their reports over here.

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: DVR with more than 2 channels for recording

Message 6 of 6
(1,576 Views)

Its now showing on the equipment order pages as Quantum TV.  At this time it still appears to only be orderable in limited areas.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title