Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

IMG 1.7 Experience

Reply
maxp
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: IMG 1.7 Experience

Message 111 of 143
(6,166 Views)

@Keyboards - actually no, that's not true.   There's widely reported issues with both Comcast and Verizon's updates to their STB software causing problems with Tivo's changing channels.   The issue is that these updates push new program info every hour on the hour, which keeps the STB's CPU (they're not very powerful PCU's) very busy and unable to accept other inputs at the same time this is happening.   I'm pretty certain this is now happening with the 1.7 update.   You can try it yourself - see if you can manually change channel exactly on the hour - I can't, the channel display gets messed up and you usually arrive at an unintended channel - you can actually see the numbers not being input correctly.   At any other time, it's fine.   The only way around this that Tivo users have found is to start recordings one minute earlier and stop recording one minute later, which allows things to work as intended.

 

Anyway, my post was to ask were others seeing this?

retiredme
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 287
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: IMG 1.7 Experience

Message 112 of 143
(6,076 Views)

I've been reluctant to post this to the 1.7 feedback thread since it's such a minor thing, but since I mentioned this recently in another post I will do so here as well for completion. I have noticed that if I shutdown the STB overnight while on a SD channel, next day upon activation the picture is stretched along with the info banner side to side. The SD override is confirmed "off". If I switch to a true HD channel and back to a SD channel, everything is reset as it should be in proper 4:3. This does not happen if I shutdown on an HD channel as everything wakes up normally. The hookup is direct STB to TV via HDMI. As I said, minor. Thank you.

Shalerdude0320
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-20-2010

Re: IMG 1.7 Experience

Message 113 of 143
(5,897 Views)

Pittsburgh got the 1.7 update today. My QIP 7100 is now in a 16:9 guide while the older one is not. On Demand seems faster loading along with the widgets. One thing those is now on my 7100, the dvi message keeps showing up. It will connect and show picture but its about a 15 second delay from the TV and STB both powered on.

thompa
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎01-20-2009

Re: IMG 1.7 Experience

Message 114 of 143
(5,818 Views)

Sarasota, Florida reecived 1.7  a couple of days ago.

 

We have  QIP6416 P2 and were hoping that 1.7 would allow us to connect to our Panasonic TV with HDMI... but still can't.

 

Have to use component.

 

Otherwise everything else appears as normail - haven't really noticed any differences to speak of.

 

Allan

Tom_M
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-04-2009

Re: IMG 1.7 Experience

Message 115 of 143
(5,504 Views)

I got the 1.7 IMG last night and haven't had a whole lot of time to play with it. One thing I noticed was certain channels started getting all pixelated.  It wasn't every channel, just a group of them.  Very weird.

 

I'll test more tonight to see what's going on. 

 

Also, the stretched guide looks ugly. 

retiredme
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 287
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: IMG 1.7 Experience

Message 116 of 143
(5,438 Views)

After successfully using HDMI with IMG 1.7 for the last month, the HDMI handshake once again appears to be raising it's ugly head. I usually turn on the TV and STB first thing in the morning for a few minutes while I have coffee, just to see if the World is where I left it. I am now getting the blank screen/good sound issue. A hard power recycle restores normal operation. I will check  my TV manufacturer for any firmware updates, and I will try a different HDMI slot on the TV. I will not rant against HDMI as I wish to do, but a Google search reveals that there is just so much wrong with it - especially as an industry standard. Sometimes the simplest change in a system, like the input or the cable itself, may rectify things. Component cables plus audio are the final fallback. BTW, HDMI 1.4 is the new standard for the new 3-D experience - oh good, no telling what that will do to  us now. Thank you.

tsauter
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎09-15-2009

Re: IMG 1.7 Experience

Message 117 of 143
(5,305 Views)

VHO12 got the update 2 days ago. As reported by others, still getting the DVI error message and it still takes 15-20 seconds for tv control to start. SO the handshake issue not resolved. I have noticed some new stuff though, added settings that have reported by Justin.

Also noticed a change to the guide. When you scroll to a show it now has a red NEW visible in the guide. Which is nice. Now I dont have to hit info to see if a show is new or not. Also noticed in the main DVR menu, they changed the  color of the space indcator to blue from white.

I will play around with it more in the next few days to see what else I notice.



"If your problem has been solved, please mark it as such. Don't forget to hand out your Kudos!"
CraigM
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-29-2009

Re: IMG 1.7 Experience

Message 118 of 143
(5,282 Views)

IMG 1.7 SEEMS to have fixed my handshake problems, fingers crossed.  Had the set on for several hours without problems.  I just might keep FIOS Smiley Happy

Craig

 

Tom_M
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-04-2009

Re: IMG 1.7 Experience

Message 119 of 143
(4,990 Views)

I've had a few days with IMG 1.7 and I have to say that my initial impression of the stretched guide data has been tempered.  It's not as bad as I originally thought, it's fine.

 

The guide IMG does seem a bit quicker than before, but overall I haven't noticed a ton of changes (Jump To Live TV, expanded guide data). Am I missing anything?

 

I haven't had any pixelating issues since, so I have no idea what was going on with Cinemax channels the other day. All appears to be well.

Tom_M
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-04-2009

Re: IMG 1.7 Experience

Message 120 of 143
(4,989 Views)

BTW, there is a blog post on changes to FiOS TV IMG and DVRs here: http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Verizon-at-Home/FiOS-TV-We-Hear-You/ba-p/153005

 

My biggest pet peeves have been brought up, but I'm sure others have constructive criticism or questions.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title