Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Picture in Picture

Reply
Ramsey_User
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-04-2008

Picture in Picture

Message 1 of 6
(32,367 Views)

My remote control has a Pic in Pic button, and I have a DVR, which means I should be able to do two things at once.

 

However, the PIP button does nothing.

 

Note, I have a "regular" Verizon dvr, not the home media dvr ...

 

I searched SUPPORT for Picture in Picture, and found NOTHING.

 

Any insight out there?

5 REPLIES 5
Paul
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎07-31-2008

Re: Picture in Picture

Message 2 of 6
(32,323 Views)

Do you have the Motorola remote?

 

Maybe the user guide for the Motorola has some PIP details for you - check it out at http://www22.verizon.com/ResidentialHelp/FiOSTV/Remote+Controls/SetUp/SetUp.htm -

Keyboards
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Picture in Picture

Message 3 of 6
(32,289 Views)
The PIP button only works for TVs that support PIP.  The DVR does not support PIP (at least not as configured by Verizon).
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
gknee
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-10-2008

Re: Picture in Picture

Message 4 of 6
(31,634 Views)

The Motorola box does not seem to support PIP directly.  This is something I miss from my TimerWaner/ScientificAtlanta box.  That box supprted PIP directly and I was able to PIP between to the two tuners in the DVR box.   Of course it is physically possible but the software on the box currently does not support it.  Verizon if your listening (and I know you are) this feature has actually kept two households I know of from switching to FIOS TV and was almost a deal breaker for me.

slothrob
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-20-2008

Re: Picture in Picture

Message 5 of 6
(31,523 Views)

On my TV, the PIP works if you connect the DVR to one TV input, and the cable directly to another so that it's using the TV's tuner for the second picture.

Paddy
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-17-2008

Re: Picture in Picture

Message 6 of 6
(31,432 Views)

Kudos to gknee on 9/10.  The ability for the STB to fully support PIP exist and is provided by competing cable systems.  My sister in law lives in CA and subscribes to Cox, they use the Scientific Atlanta STB that fully supports PIP. 

 

As gknee mentions, we'll see if Verizon is truly as customer oriented as they claim and gets up to speed with the State of the Pracitce in PIP.  It is a software issue and the software exist! 

 

What's up VERIZON??

 

Thanks,

Paddy

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title