Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Do I need a new modem?

Reply
ECUnited
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-25-2011

Do I need a new modem?

Message 1 of 7
(5,421 Views)

We're in an area where we can only get the 1-3 Mbps (faster) plan and normally it works fairly well. However, over the past couple of weeks my connection gets really slow, and I lose my DSL connection quite frequently. 

 

When the speed gets slow, I can turn off the modem, and provided it connects, the speed improves (2.5 - 2.8 Mbps download on Speedtest), but I'm having to reset the modem nearly everyday, sometimes multiple times in a day.

 

Is that indicative of the need for a new modem? My current modem is fairly old (Westell 6100).  

 

Has anyone purchased a modem from somewhere other than Verizon and has that helped?

 

Thanks in advance,

Ed

6 REPLIES 6
Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,611
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Do I need a new modem?

Message 2 of 7
(5,395 Views)

A loss in speed and a large amount of disconnects generally point towards line trouble, not a dying modem. Before we start blaming it on the modem, let's check the Transceiver statistics out. Visit http://192.168.1.1/ (which will work if you are not behind a router using that address) and click on System Monitoring. Choose Advanced Monitors from the Left Navigation, and then choose Transceiver Statistics. Post up the contents on that page.

 

If you need a Username/Password, try the following:

 

admin/password

admin/password1

admin/admin

admin/admin1

 

For the record, you can use any DSL modem that is compatible with the ADSL Standard. Every off the shelf modem you find should support it. In some cases, another modem may show better results, though it's generally a difference between obtaining a particular speed over a longer line or sensitivity to noise on the line.

ECUnited
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-25-2011

Re: Do I need a new modem?

Message 3 of 7
(5,345 Views)

Transceiver Statistics

Transceiver Revision: 7.2.3.0  

Vendor ID Code: 4  

Line Mode: ADSL2+ Mode  

Data Path: Interleaved    

 

Transceiver Information Downstream Path Upstream Path

DSL Speed (Kbits/Sec) 1043 859 Margin (dB) 14.5 9.0 Line Attenuation (dB) 37.5 24.5 Transmit Power (dBm) 16.7 12.1

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,611
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Do I need a new modem?

Message 4 of 7
(5,153 Views)

Sorry about the delay in replying. Anyhow, your line seems to be having a noise issue. Your line is short enough (theoretically) to handle the 3Mbps provisioning without an issue, but it is barely holding 1Mbps. If you have access to a NID, inside of the NID (if it's recent) there should be a test jack. Plug your modem into the test jack and post up the new Statistics the modem reports. This will let us determine if there is an issue with your home's wiring, or if it's something Verizon needs to correct.

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,143
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Do I need a new modem?

Message 5 of 7
(5,125 Views)

If the OP does not know what a NID is/looks like, points OP to

 

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/1317

 

All DSLR (dslreports.com) FAQs -> Verizon Online DSL FAQ -> Hardware -> What is a NID?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

darel
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-23-2014

Re: Do I need a new modem?

Message 6 of 7
(3,346 Views)

I have been having my internet service dropping off a lot over last 2 months and it keeps getting worse . Today It went completely for some time. I had to disconnect my wireless router and use my hard wired computer to get on line but it is real slow on it and I need to go into the network sharing center to get it started every time I restart my computer and it is very slow. What is going on with this connection?

Thanks

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,611
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Do I need a new modem?

Message 7 of 7
(3,323 Views)

@darel wrote:

I have been having my internet service dropping off a lot over last 2 months and it keeps getting worse . Today It went completely for some time. I had to disconnect my wireless router and use my hard wired computer to get on line but it is real slow on it and I need to go into the network sharing center to get it started every time I restart my computer and it is very slow. What is going on with this connection?

Thanks


Would you be able to start a new thread for us so we can work with you on this problem? Start off by posting speed tests of the service while you are online. http://www.speedtest.net/ is a good place to do this which also allows you to share your speed test results. If you can, also tell us what modem you have, along with any separate router you may be using.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title